Sunday, September 16, 2012

Sunday Salon: What to read next?

Good say, fellow Saloners.

I've managed to slog through the last couple stories in My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me. I've been reading it this past week, and while some of the stories are good, a lot of them are NOT. Fortunately, the last story was pretty good, so I didn't finish it and then hurl it across the room :-)

The other book I read this week was The Road, and I'm wondering why I let it sit on my self so long before I got to it. Yes, it slogged at times, but it was so well written that I didn't mind.

I'm trying to decide what to read next. I still have my half-read copy of Midnight's Children laying around somewhere. I also need to read more for my classics challenges. I think I need something quick and simple, though. I put a library hold request on Divergent, but the wait time is 17 days. grrrr.

There are a couple books making eyes at me: Tender at the Bone, Ruth Reichl's memoir, and Remains of the Day. Have you read either? Any thoughts?

Just because I'm curious: How do you choose what to read next? Do you have a method, a list from which to choose, or you just pick what suits your mood?

5 comments:

Creations by Laurel-Rain Snow said...

I haven't read either of the books that are calling to you.

Hope you enjoy your pick.

Here's MY SUNDAY SALON POST

Savvy WorkingGal said...

I selected Reichl's memoir from a list of humorous books. I didn't think it was laugh out loud funny - I thought some of Reichl’s disguises and the personalities she took on were a little sad - but it was certainly an entertaining page-turner. I will be curious to read your thoughts if you decide to read it.

Heather said...

Choosing which book I read next is the hardest decision I regularly make. Haha! I don't have a method--I just look through my list and pick one (this usually takes me a good half-hour, at least).

Rebecca Scaglione said...

No way!!! I literally am publishing a "how do you choose what to read" blog post today! I wrote it the other day and it's sitting in my "scheduled" area, ready to go in a few hours! (LoveAtFirstBook .com)

I usually pick a book that speaks to me! I don't have any other method besides that since I want to enjoy my read!

Also, "The Road" was fabulous! I wasn't sure if I would like it, but I read it so quickly, and it was one of those books that, once I was finished, I hadn't read so that I could have the opportunity of a first read all over again.

thecuecard said...

Remains of the Day is good! Ishiguro is a wonderful author. Never Let Me Go is killer too. I pick what suits my mood at that very moment and that's how I decide what to read next. A book has to call to you!